Professor Yoshi HayashiProfessor Yoshi Hayashi

Message from the WCTRS President

Professor Yoshi Hayashi (Nagoya University) was elected New President of WCTRS at the last General Assembly of the Society held at the Rio Conference in July 2013. New President Professor Hayashi addresses a reminder to former members for the renewal of their membership; and an invitation to any person interested to join our society.

Message from President Yoshitsugu Hayashi

See the new President’s profile

WCTRS Newsletter 2015: Volume 2 now available

The latest WCTRS newsletter is now available in the General Member area of the website.

Members can click here and access this page using their usual log in name and password.


Non-members can access an abbreviated version of the newsletter here.

WCTRS News Briefing

The WCTRS Member News Briefing for October 2015 is now available at WCTRS News Briefing.

WCTRS Members can access this page using their usual log in name and password.

14th World Conference on Transport Research

10-15 July 2016 | Shanghai, China

The World Conference on Transport Research has been held every three years since 1977. The 14th World Conference will be held 10-15 July 2016 in Shanghai, China at Tongji University, which will host the Conference at its main campus. The WCTRS Young Researchers’ Conference will take place on 10 July 2016.

Read more about the 14th World Conference on Transport ResearchWTRS2016_700x100_CFP

General background information

We have produced a short information leaflet which briefly outlines the main aims and achievements of the WCTRS. Please click one of the links below to view this in your preferred language.

Invitation to WCTRS Young Researchers Initiative, Ed. 2

Following the remarkable success of Edition-1 of “WCTRS Young Researchers’ Initiative” (WCTRS-Y) that was completed during WCTR-13 held in Rio, July 2013, I am pleased to announce that the Steering Committee (STC) of WCTRS has decided to launch Edition-2 of the initiative. This is planned to be completed during WCTR-14 to be held in Shanghai, July 10-15, 2016, with increased honoraria to the volunteers…

► Invitation to participate in WCTRS Young Researchers’ Initiative WCTRS-Y; Edition-2 (.pdf)

► Details and Conditions

Rio 2013

Rio 2013 conference results

The WCTRS last General Assembly was held in Rio on Wednesday 17th July 2013 during the 13th Conference. It resulted on the election of a new president and steering committee members.

Recipients of the Rio conference Prizes

  • Dupuit Prize – Werner Rothengatter
  • WCTRS Prize for the Best Paper
    • QIANG Meng, XINCHANG Wang and LIXIN Miao
  • WCTRS Prize for the Best Paper presented by a Young Researcher – Moataz MAHMOUD and Julian HINE
  • WCTRS Prize for the Best Poster – Herrie SCHALEKAMP
  • Transport Policy Prize for the Most Influential Paper – Jillian ANABLE
    Prize for the WCTR Best Paper on Transport in Developing Countries (offered by the Cairo University) – Herrie SCHALEKAMP